01 and 10

I just had the most astounding and sensational auditive experience anybody has ever had in their life. It’s like that mad scientist who sent a signal into space waiting for a response, and on his dead bed, he finally heard a static from outer space knowing that it was all worth the wait. Or like a father whose son has been mute since birth and his first words are, “Father, I love you.” Or like the words of acceptance of a rigid father for his gay son when after years of denial he finally…alright, maybe my experience was nothing like those things and I am exaggerating right now, or maybe since I am not a scientists on the brink of death, a father with an incapacitated son, or gay, I think my experience is similar.

Either way, I have discovered something that has brought me great joy.

Many Radiohead fans believe that there is a masterpiece hidden in plain view. It involves OK Computer (1997) and In Rainbows (2007). These are arguably two of the best albums recorded by what is arguably one of the best bands in the world. Separate, they are both great experiences and received a great number of accolades when they were released. But given the similarities of both albums, many people believe they are part of an overarching plan that took 10 years to finalize. For starters, both albums have the same pattern for the title, both are a two-letter word followed by an eight-letter word. The themes of doom and despair are present in both and it progresses into a false sense of accomplishment and followed by hope in both albums. Also, when you considered all the clues left by Thom Yorke previous to its release, In Rainbows seems to compliment its 10-yeard old brother.

Whether this is true or just plain coincidence, both albums merge together musically, lyrically and thematically in a way that is beautiful in its nature.

To create the playlist, which fans have named 01 and 10, one must alternate the albums track by track, starting with OK Computer‘s “Airbag”, followed by In Rainbows‘s “15 Step”, and so on, until we reach “Karma Police” which should be followed by “Fittier Happier” from the same album. This marks the bridge of the 01 and 10 experience, at which point one continues to alternate albums once more.

The playlist should look as follows:

1. Airbag (OK Computer)
2. 15 Step (In Rainbows)
3. Paranoid Android (OK Computer)
4. Bodysnatchers (In Rainbows)
5. Subterranean Homesick Alien (OK Computer)
6. Nude (In Rainbows)
7. Exit Music (For A Film) (OK Computer)
8. Weird Fishes/Arpeggi (In Rainbows)
9. Let Down (OK Computer)
10. All I Need (In Rainbows)
11. Karma Police (OK Computer)
12. Fitter Happier (OK Computer)
13. Faust Arp (In Rainbows)
14. Electioneering (OK Computer)
15. Reckoner (In Rainbows)
16. Climbing Up The Walls (OK Computer)
17. House Of Cards (In Rainbows)
18. No Surprises (OK Computer)
19. Jigsaw Falling Into Place (In Rainbows)
20. Lucky (OK Computer)
21. Videotape (In Rainbows)
22. The Tourist (OK Computer)

This might not bear much impact to those who do not like Radiohead or only know “Creep,” but for me, it has been an incredible experience that only reinforces my beliefs in Radiohead as the greatest band in the world.