“it is only a stupid show, mom”

Sgeun un estduio de una unviersdiad inlgesa, no ipmotra el odren en el que las letars etsan esrcitas, la uncia csoa ipormtnate es que la pmrirea y la utlima lerta esetn ecsritas en la psiocion cocrreta. El rsteo peuden etsar tatolemnte mal y aun pordas lerelo sin pobrleams. Etso es pquore no lemeos cada ltera por si msima snio la paalbra en un tdoo.

La mente organiza los elementos percibidos del mejor modo posible y para ello modifica la percepción de lo escrito según la ley de similaridad y la de la buena forma, para hacerlo comprensible. Basado en las Leyes de la Gestalt. (prestado del blog de fotogramaclave)

I have always been frowned upon by so called Christians because of the fact that I listen to secular music. I remember having a very long conversation with my mom before going to a Marilyn Manson concert regarding my Christian beliefs–scratch that–Christian values due to the fact that I was going to said concert.  Her argument was that it is oxymoronic of me to call myself a Christian and yet listen to this type of music. I knew that nothing I could say, regardless of how true that could have been, would change my mom’s perspective, so all I said was, “I am sorry that you feel this way mom but rest assure that you have done the greatest job as a mother and there is nothing else God could ask you to do in order to improve.” I said that in Spanish and did not mean it. I nay said it to get out of an argument in which there would be no winners.

What I really wanted to say was that most people are surrounded by thoughts and ideas that collide with their own, yet we do not succumb to these opposing notions. We modify them in a way that we can relate to them and then we think they are ok. The Gestalt Laws. The mind arranges the elements it perceives in a way they can be interpreted in a familiar way. When we hear a song that contains lyrics that go against our beliefs from an artist or a genre that we like, we start to think of ways in which we can relate to it, even if it is contrary to the meaning that the artist intended. In “The Fight Song” Marilyn Manson sings, “…and I’m not a slave to a god that doesn’t exist.” What he really means is that there is no god. What my brain perceived, based on my beliefs,  is that I, also, am not a slave to a God who doesn’t exist because I happily serve a God who is truly alive. Therefore I agree with what he says. My mind has accepted the message and no conflict has been generated in my brain by colliding ideas.

Everything comes down to perspective and our own perspective is guided by what our beliefs are. Unfortunately, in many cases, beliefs are created based on someone else’s perspective. This leads to ignorance, ignorance to intolerance, and intolerance to an hour long conversation with my mother right as I am to leave to a Marilyn Manson concert.

3 thoughts on ““it is only a stupid show, mom”

  1. The only thing in life you have control over is your perspective. No matter what happens, you control what the meaning is, and what to do with the meaning you give to the circumstance.

Leave a Reply

